help_outline Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeEventsJohn Whelan Slow Session

Events - Event View

This is the "Event Detail" view, showing all available information for this event. If the event has passed, click the "Event Report" button to read a report and view photos that were uploaded.

John Whelan Slow Session

When:
Wednesday, November 25, 2020, 4:00 PM until 6:00 PM
Where:
via Zoom
Website

Category:
Virtual Event
Registration is not Required
Every Wednesday, John hosts a free, live “Taking Time” slow session on Zoom. The session starts at 4pm Pacific time/7pm Eastern/midnight GMT, and regularly draws attendees from around the world. Players and listeners of all levels are very welcome to enjoy playing or hearing favorite tunes at a comfortable tempo, along with the all-important warmth of connection that shared music brings into our lives, even — or rather, especially — now. This is also a great opportunity for learning new tunes, as everybody but the session leader (John) will be muted while they play. Unlike an in-person session you can noodle along to your heart’s content, and nobody will ever know unless you tell them. John sends out the Zoom link and tune list to his newsletter subscribers every week, usually on Tuesday evening (Pacific time), so please make sure to sign up for his email newsletter so you can join in.
clef spacer
  Comments, questions, about this site? Write to webmaster@portlandfolkmusic.org.